Home to the greatest concentration of distilleries in the world, Scotland is divided into five distinct whisky regions. These are Lowland, Highland, Speyside, Islay and Campbeltown.

The practice of distilling whisky has been lovingly perfected throughout Scotland for centuries and began as a way of turning rain-soaked barley into a drinkable spirit, using the fresh water from Scotland’s crystal-clear springs, streams and burns.

To this day, distilleries across the country continue the tradition of using pure spring water from the same sources that have been used for centuries.

From the source of the water and the shape of the still to the wood of the cask used to mature the spirit, there are many factors that make Scotch whisky so wonderfully different and varied from distillery to distillery.

No two are the same; each has its own proud heritage, unique setting and its own way of doing things that has evolved and been refined over time. Paying a visit to a distillery lets you discover more about the environment and the people who shape the taste of the Scotch whisky you enjoy. So, when you’re sitting back and relaxing with a dram of our most famous export at the end of your distillery tour, you’ll be appreciating the essence of Scotland as it swirls in your glass.

A visitor guide to Scotland’s 5 whisky regions